Jaakko Kuusisto

Jaakko Kuusisto to continue as member of the Central Arts Council

Finland's Minister of Education and Culture, Sanni Grahn-Laasonen, has appointed the new Central Arts Council, which will serve from September 2016 on during a 3-year term. The Central Arts Council serves as an advisory body to the Ministry of Education and Culture in policymaking regarding the arts. The new chairperson for the Council will be Risto Ruohonen, and three members from the previous Council will continue to serve; they are Saara Tiuraniemi, Eija-Liisa Ahtila and Jaakko Kuusisto.

Several performances for Jaakko's Violin Concerto

Jaakko Kuusisto's Violin Concerto will receive its U.S. premiere on October 9th and 10th in a concert given by the Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra and Music Director JoAnn Falletta at Kleinhans Music Hall, Buffalo. Immediately after, the Concerto will be heard several times during Lahti Symphony Orchestra's European tour under Chief Conductor Okko Kamu's direction, as follows:
- Verkatehdas, Hämeenlinna (Finland) Oct 14th
- Seat Concert Hall, Katowice (Poland) Oct 16th
- Krzysztof Penderecki European Centre for Music, Luslawice (Poland) Oct 17th
- Konzerthaus, Vienna (Austria) Oct 19th

Elina Vähälä will be the soloist for all performances.